Go Back


Country Matrix

Executive Board

Siddharth Goyal


Prashant Khurana


Pathikrit Pal



Lok Sabha, literally translating to ‘The House of the People’, is the lower house of India’s two-tier legislative body. Members of the Lok Sabha are directly elected by universal adult suffrage and retain their posts for a total of five years. Each member represents the constituency from which they contest to procure a seat in the assembly. They are alternatively known as the ‘Members of Parliament’ (MP). The Lok Sabha is an entirely democratic house. Each MP is accountable to three groups: their constituency, the Parliament, and their political party (with an exception of independent candidates). The House is empowered with a great deal of authority and consequently, responsibility. Their role extends from introduction and passing of ordinary or money bills, questioning of ministers on policies and administration, to the impeachment of the President of India (if deemed necessary). The importance of political affiliation also plays an interesting role in character portrayal. With a different set of Rules of Procedure, the Lok Sabha diverges from the standard proceedings of international councils and accommodates centric and policy driven flow of debate.


  1. Discussing the Women’s Reservation Bill and Marriage Equality for LGBTQ Community in India
  2. Reviewing the state of the Banking and Financial Services in India.